my makeup today

Untitled//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Lately, I’ve been increasingly obsessed with my longtime hobby, makeup + beauty. Part of this is due to my discovery (not at all ahead of the curve here) of Jaclyn Hill and Manny Mua on YouTube, although I have to say that I can’t imagine wearing as much makeup as either of them pretty much ever. Nevertheless, I suddenly find myself regularly wearing three colors of eyeshadow, which is certainly a change from my “eyeshadow?” routine of yore. Another contributing factor has been my subscription to BirchBox, which is super fun too (and makes a great gift!). While I certainly think it’s up to each person to decide on the makeup routine (or lack thereof) that’s right for them, for me, I find it relaxing and sort of meditative to spend 10 minutes in the morning slathering my face in product. Here’s what’s in my makeup tray at the moment:

Foundation: Georgio Armani Luminous Silk in the shade 4.5. Love. Forever.
Concealer: I’m having a bit of a moment right now where I’m cycling through multiple concealers. I’ve had and loved the Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage for years, but found myself wanting something more liquid, especially for the under-eye. I reached for Nars Creamy Radiant Concealer in Honey, and I liked it but worried that the color might be too warm. As an alternative, I also grabbed the Urban Decay Naked Concealer in Light Neutral, which is what is on my face in the above picture.
Powder: Lancôme Photogenic Transclucent Setting Powder. It’s OK. I’ve had it forever. I’m using it up before trying something more exciting. (PS – a quick Google revealed that it was no-one’s favorite, and has now been discontinued…)
Eyeshadow: Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette, which is new to me and which I lo-o-o-o-ove. It’s been so fun to finally get into the hype on these palettes.
Mascara: L’Oreal Voluminous Waterproof Mascara in Carbon Black. A go-to drugstore pick – not too exciting, but does the job.
Brows: Now this is a big change for me: from nothing at all to brow maintenance! I’m using the famous Anastasia Brow Wiz in the shade Taupe, and I might never go back to non-filled brows. I’m way into it. I do prefer a more natural and subtle look, but my natural brows are sort of blonde and invisible, so even a bit of filling makes a huge difference.
Lips: I got a free sample size of NARS Satin Lip Pencil in Rikugien from Sephora, am strangely obsessed with its 90s-ish, almost (but distinctly not) frosted rose-pink, and I’m now searching frantically for a drugstore dupe. Any leads??
Highlighter: I fell into buying the Becca x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop and although I’m enjoying it, I think it’s a bit intense for me. That said, I’m liking the highlight as something that pulls the look together, so I might save the Champagne Pop for going out/evening and look for a more “everyday” highlighter. Haha, because that’s so necessary!

What are you using these days? Any big recommendations for me?

Leave a comment