the once and future makeup

Recently — okay, not that recently, in January actually — I was reminded by my mom that I once wore a Dior foundation, and said to myself, huh. I had almost no memory of this! So I thought it might be fun to put together a little post about my go-to products now and their (probably objectively just as good) predecessors.

IMG_0429
(This is from last July on our third anniversary :) )

A beauty blog I read recently gave a name to something I have always experienced as a closet beauty junkie: even if you really like a product, it’s just so fun to try something else. In other words, few things merit a “repurchase” unless the product is completely fantastic and/or at a desirable price point.

Without further ado, the things I love now and their antecedents!

Foundation

Recently have become hooked on Georgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation in 4.5. Previously, it was Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow in Ivory, which  underwhelmed me when I purchased it last May, but which I loved in the fall and winter. I think it maybe doesn’t hold up well in humidity, but gives a nice dewy look in the drier months. And before that one, I was totally against dewi-ness and went for Laura Mercier’s loose mineral powder in Tender Rose. I think I bought that one at least three times, so it was my go-to for quite a while.

Shout-out to when you can’t afford those: I emergency purchased L’Oréal’s new Infallible Pro-Matte foundation in Shell Beige (I think that was the shade) as a stopgap at the end of this winter, and I liked it although it’s certainly more full-coverage than I prefer. However, it really does last a long time and is neither too shiny nor too matte, so there’s that. In a pinch, it’s a good product for $11.99 for sure.

Eyeliner

There is only one: Revlon Colorstay Eyeliner in Black. I buy it in bulk whenever possible, as I wear it 9 days out of 10. It lasts forever, is easy to apply, comes with its own teeny tiny sharpener, is smudge-able but not too much — I could go on and on. I’m uninterested in trying any other eyeliners, truthfully. I’ve got some Cynthia Rowley black eyeliner that I got in a recent Birchbox, and I guess I’ll try that before re-purchasing the Colorstay for the millionth time. Maybe.

Mascara

I change all the time with this one and have a few Old Faithfuls. Right now it’s L’Oréal Voluminous Waterproof in Carbon Black. Previously it was Rimmel ScandalEyes in Black. Both are good, but let’s be real, nothing holds a candle to FairyDrops Scandal Queen. That said, I always think it’s sort of silly to buy expensive mascara because I’m religious about throwing it out every couple of months.

Concealer

Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage in SC-2, which I’ve used for years and like but I’m ready for the next thing. Thinking maybe Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer or Chanel Correcteur Perfection?

Now, those four products are the only ones I use every day, other than my trusty Vaseline. But that’s not to say that I don’t have other favorites…

Best Lipstick: Laura Mercier Satin Lipcolor in Duchess Rose (DISCONTINUED ARGHH WHAT WILL I DOOOOO)

Favorite Eyeshadow: I have a big Stila holiday palette that I quite like, and a nice Laura Mercier palette that’s good too, but lately (springtime) I’ve been layering this old Lancome peachy-shimmery color that looks like something out of the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette with MAC eyeshadow in Tempting. I’m into it – it’s just “done” enough to be perfect for everyday.

Leave a Reply

