je suis charlie

Coincidentally, my mom and I had planned a trip to Paris that took place several days after the attacks on Charlie Hebdo. Mom had some trouble with her flights, so I ended up alone on the day of the big manif. The town felt really vibrant, there were people with signs everywhere and the buses and metro were packed. I didn’t go to the manif myself partially because I promised Mom I wouldn’t and partially because I think it would have been a lot of people for me. But we did buy copies of the latest Charlie and I noticed a lot of solidarity imagery around town, plus tons of Je Suis Charlie.

Like in the window of a clothing store:
Paris

…as graffiti in the Luxembourg Gardens:
Paris

… on the Hôtel de Ville:
Paris

… and many buildings lit up like this, the Mairie du 6e:
Paris

My mom and I had a great time hitting the soldes (after-holiday sales).
Paris

The first night I was there, I took a walk setting out from our adorable hotel around the Jardin. The sunset was amazing and the weather was so pleasant. I even ran into a herd of shetland ponies (?!).
Paris
Paris
View from hotel:
Paris
Nearby St-Sulpice:
Paris

After a lightning-fast week, I was on my way home, via Reykjavik.
Paris

Leave a Reply

