outdoor bench revamp

One of the things I liked the most about our little house when we moved in was the back patio. It has so much potential! There is a built in bench, and it is covered with a corrugated plastic roof, so it is sheltered from the rain. I envisioned making it into an outdoor dining room and maybe even buying a grill!

Four months later…

outdoor bench before

Yep. I was also bummed with myself. Would you ever sit there? I wouldn’t. Also, this is AFTER I scrubbed it with bleach.

With a little fabric and foam, plus three zippers and two pillow forms, we now have:

outdoor bench after 2

We got the foam from an upholstery foam outlet in town. The owner custom-cut it for us out of a massive piece of foam so it exactly fit the weird trapezoid that was the bench (for only $40!). I made the cover for it out of bargain bin fabric. It was a huge pain in the butt and I made a ton of mistakes so I don’t think I’m qualified to tell you how to do it! However, I am proud of how it turned out!

I also made the solid-colored pillowcases. For those, basically I just sewed straight lines and installed a zipper using the instructions found in the zipper package. The other pillow is from Target.

I love our revamped bench! Now if we could only get a table out there… hm… xo. h

Leave a Reply

